"The Last Subway" and "The Story of the Pig" in the MacDowell Colony Interdisciplinary Art (ID) Collection



May 21, 2019 

The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, has awarded more than $1 million in fellowships to ninety-three artists who hail from twenty-five states and seven countries. Recipients will be invited to the colony for a period of up to eight weeks; they will each be provided with accommodations, meals, and studio space.

The cohort includes composer Fred Hersch; experimental filmmakers Shon Kim and Mitch McCabe; performance artists Cassils and Michelle Ellsworth; playwright Max Posner; visual artists Becca Albee, Heidi Hahn, and Victoria-Idongesit Udondian; and writers Ross Gay, Suki Kim, Amitava Kumar, Eileen Myles, and Sarah Schulman.

The MacDowell Colony was founded by composer Edward MacDowell and pianist Marian MacDowell in 1907 to nurture the arts by supporting creatives in various disciplines. The next application deadline for a MacDowell fellowship is September 15, which is for the winter and spring 2020 residency period.

A complete list of the program’s new fellows is as follows:

Architects: Viola Ago, Matt Burgermaster, Erik Herrmann, Michael Jefferson, Aaron Jones, Suzanne Lettieri, and Rosalyne Shieh
Composers: Philippe Bodin, Eric Chasalow, Fred Hersch, Martha Mooke, Matthew Ricketts, Joshua Stamper, Moses Sumney, and Dalit Warshaw
Filmmakers: Sam Ashby, Andrea Bussmann, Amelia Evans, Shon Kim, Mitch McCabe, Juan Nicolas Pereda Rodriguez, Dani Restack, Sheilah Restack, Albert Serra Juanola, J.P. Sniadecki, and Leslie Tai
Interdisciplinary Artists: Cassils, Michelle Ellsworth, Samantha Johns, Devin Kenny, Neil Mendoza, Laura Parnes, and Ziyang Wu
Theater Artists: Franky Gonzalez, Stephen Gregg, Kathryn Hamilton, Candrice Jones, Melissa Li, Deb Margolin, Sylvan Oswald, Max Posner, Ed Woodham, and Kit Yan
Visual Artists: Beverly Acha, Becca Albee, Yewen Dong, Joshua Dorman, Jane Fine, Heidi Hahn, Nasim Hantehzadeh, Em Rooney, Laurel Sparks, Victoria-Idongesit Udondian, and Anna Wehrwein
Fiction Writers: Coryn Brown, Joseph Cassara, Ashley Davidson, Madeline ffitch, Janalyn Guo, Catherine Kudlick, Amitava Kumar, Aryn Kyle, Stephen Macone, Lydia Martín, Deena Mohamed, Sigrid Nunez, Eric Sam Orner, Katy Simpson Smith, and Esme Wang
Poets: Kristen Case, Ross Gay, Joan Larkin, Kamilah Aisha Moon, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Victoria Ramírez, Iliana Rocha, Charif Shanahan, Tsering Wangmo, and translator Patty Crane
Nonfiction Writers: Jessica Dawson, Elizabeth de Souza, David France, Darcy Frey, Jason Katzenstein, Suki Kim, Francesca Mari, Ben Mauk, Eileen Myles, Matthew Ortile, Micah Perks, Sarah Schulman, and Danielle Spencer